Principles of Sustainability Selected as a Winner in the 33rd Annual Telly Awards

Juried selection from 11,000 entries from all 50 states and numerous countries

Moscow, ID – May 25, 2012 – The Telly Awards has named the University of Idaho as a Bronze winner in the 33rd Annual Telly Awards for their global online course titled Principles of Sustainability. With nearly 11,000 entries from all 50 states and numerous countries, this is truly an honor.

Professor Möller’s course Principles of Sustainability is a global online open course that uses multiple modes of new media to inform and inspire students. The course is ranked number one on Google search for the disciplinary important term “principles of sustainability".

Normalized for upper division and graduate students of any discipline or major background, Professor Möller has produced cinematic HD-surround sound “doculectures” in each of the fifty learning areas, in his experimental pedagogy. A doculecture is a PowerPoint-free presentation, formalized in content, and supported with media such as subject descriptive film, photographs, animations, music, and text. His new approach couples the information intensity of a university lecture with the audiovisual warmth and dynamics of a documentary film. Professor Möller’s course leverages our understanding of the cognitive neuroscience of learning and memory using dynamic imagery, sounds, and virtual spacial effects. Over 100 filmmakers and scholars across the globe, and numerous students, contributed to his course. Available on computers, smartphones, video game consoles, streaming media players, and IPTV (internet protocol TV), the Creative Commons 3.0 licensed materials produced by Professor Möller are loaded almost 2000 times per week in 80+ countries. The doculectures are co-produced by Dave Tong (UIVPC) and Denise Bennett (JAMM) of the University of Idaho, and the course website was designed by Jenine Cordon of Distance and Extended Education at the University of Idaho.

The Telly Awards was founded in 1979 and is the premier award honoring outstanding local, regional, and cable TV commercials and programs, the finest video and film productions, and online commercials, video and films.  Winners represent the best work of the most respected advertising agencies, production companies, television stations, cable operators, and corporate video departments in the world.

For its 33rd season, The Telly Awards once again joined forces with YouTube to give the public the power to view and rate videos submitted as part of the People’s Telly Awards.  In addition to recognition from the Silver Telly Council, the judging panel that selects the Telly Awards winners, the Internet community helps decide the People’s Telly Awards winners.

A prestigious judging panel of over 500 accomplished industry professionals, each a past winner of a Silver Telly and a member of The Silver Telly Council, judged the competition, upholding the historical standard of excellence that Telly represents.  The Silver Council evaluated entries to recognize distinction in creative work – entries do not compete against each other – rather entries are judged against a high standard of merit. 

Previous winners include: Booz Allen Hamilton, Turner Studios, evans hardy + young, Jack Morton Worldwide, BSX Digital Productions, Michigan State University, Quigley-Simpson, The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., FOX SPORTS NET, Nickelodeon, PriceWaterhouseCoopers, Bass Pros Shops Film & Video Productions, Lockheed Martin, Miami Dolphins Ltd., Vox Pop Films, AEG Network LIVE, Kansas City Chiefs, Walt Disney Parks & Resorts, Outdoor Channel, Time Warner Cable, Johns Hopkins Children's Center, Cause & Effect Productions, Inc., The Lighthouse Film Company, and Eveo, Inc.

“The Telly Awards has a mission to honor the very best in film and video,” said Linda Day, Executive Director of the Telly Awards.  “The University of Idaho’s accomplishment illustrates their creativity, skill, and dedication to their craft and serves as a testament to great film and video production.”

To find out more about the Telly Awards visit their website at